Self Improvement

Basic Buddhist Teachings: The Four Noble Truth

“Dukkha” is one of the most important element in the basic Buddhist teachings. Although most followers often translates it as “sufferings”, some people also refer to it as “stress”, “disease” and “dissatisfaction”. However, the fundamental teachings tells about dealing with dukkha, and how people should experience it on the right way. This is to start a person’s journey towards achieving the enlightenment.

What are the Four Noble Truths?

The four noble truths circle around the concept of dukkha. It teaches about dukkha itself, experiencing it, and breaking free from it.

  1. There is Dukkha

The truth and existence of dukkha should be acknowledge by followers. Sufferings are undeniable in life to begin with, and the first truth teaches people to accept it wholeheartedly. Regardless of it being physical, psychological, and emotional or in some other forms, a person should accept dukkha, perceive the experience of its presence, and know further about it.

  1. Dukkha Have Causes

The next truth you should accept is the fact that dukkha have causes, and in basic Buddhist teachings, it is ignorance and cravings. For instance, you do not just feel ill out of the blue; it always have causes. Accepting such truth can let you deal with such causes, thus letting you address dukkha even further.

  1. The Presence of Sensation of Dukkha

The third truth tells about the sensation of dukkha, or the freedom from sufferings. If there is suffering, you can break free from it. Such moment is the sensation of Dukkha that you should achieve.

  1. The Way Towards the Sensation of Dukkha

There is a way for you to reach the sensation of dukkha, and it is the noble eightfold path according to basic Buddhist teachings. These are noble acts that you can do, for you to free yourself from sufferings.

The four noble truths is one of the most fundamental teachings of Buddhism. This can help you to start following it, and make your way towards freedom from dukkha.